NYC Midnight : Creative Writing & Screenwriting Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Creative Writing Corner
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

How many of the alotted 24 hours did you use?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 9>
Author
NYC Midnight Newbie
NYC Midnight Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote C.C. Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How many of the alotted 24 hours did you use?
    Posted: 17 Oct 2021 at 8:38am
How many hours did you dedicate to this effort?

I feel like the slowest girl in class...the one who tends to miss recess because she's not done with her assignments. 250 words is so much more challenging than I'd anticipated! This is my first time participating in the challenge and I really had to stretch. 

I haven't seen any posts by Group 11 writers yet but am excited to learn how others handled my assignment. Since 'Romantic Comedy' is entirely outside my wheelhouse, I am preparing to get shredded! 🤪

Edited by C.C. - 17 Oct 2021 at 8:39am
Hanley! View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Addict
NYC Midnight Addict

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hanley! Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Oct 2021 at 8:48am
I spent about 4 hours writing and editing, maybe almost 5. Writing 250 words doesn't take long when you have 1,000 to work with, but when they're such a scarce commodity it becomes a lot more difficult. 

The wheels were spinning in the back of my head for a few hours before I started though, so in a way I used almost the entire day. I'm not someone who ever winds up submitting my stories early. For competitions that last the entire weekend, I usually don't even start typing until Sunday. Saturday is spent just formulating an idea and putting together the basic story structure. 
jasondenys View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Regular
NYC Midnight Regular