NYC Midnight : Creative Writing & Screenwriting Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Questions & Answers
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

What the judges look for

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
NYC Midnight Newbie
NYC Midnight Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Curryfriedrice Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: What the judges look for
    Posted: 23 Sep 2022 at 8:42am
Hi all, I’m brand new to this world. Brand new to both NYC midnight and writing! I’m excited and nervous to join my first contest! The only writing I’ve ever done in the past was college essays and papers (I never attended college but would write for my friends for fun) in those circumstances it was easy to know what the judge(teacher) was looking for. But in this case I’m totally new and don’t really know what the judges like or “go for” reading the winning stories I guess I fear they tend to prefer a certain style I might not have honed yet? I joined this contest for the prompts and community, not to win anything, but I still feel the need to appeal to the judges. Any tips or advice or anything at all that might be helpful for a newcomer to hear would be so greatly appreciated! 
Sparker View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Addict
NYC Midnight Addict

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Sparker Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Sep 2022 at 9:30am
Welcome!

I’ve done a few of these and I think you’ve got the right attitude.  My advice is not to worry about the judges, and you will get a better sense of it as you participate and READ others’ stories on the forum and see their feedback.  I personally made a creative decision to write for my readers, not the judges and I have never regretted it. Good luck and have fun!  
Curryfriedrice View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Newbie
NYC Midnight Newbie