NYC Midnight : Creative Writing & Screenwriting Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Questions & Answers
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Question about genre

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
NYC Midnight Newbie
NYC Midnight Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote outoftheashes Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Question about genre
    Posted: 15 May 2021 at 6:14am
Hi, all! This is my first time participating in a writing challenge and I'm quite worried. My assigned genre is historical fiction (just had to be the genre I have no experience in whatsoever - reading or writing, aaaaa). Do I need to include an *actual* documented historical figure or are historical events and settings enough? Similarly, can I write about situations that weren't as common but still probably occurred or do I need to focus on situations that have a lot of evidence/proof? For example, female characters doing tasks one generally links to men, is that a step too far and grounds for being disqualified? 

Thanks in advance! 
NMiller View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Black Belt
NYC Midnight Black Belt

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote NMiller Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2021 at 7:32am

Historical Fiction