NYC Midnight : Creative Writing & Screenwriting Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Creative Writing Corner
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

QUESTION: Preparing for Round 3

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 6>
Author
NYC Midnight Addict
NYC Midnight Addict

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Littledaylight Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: QUESTION: Preparing for Round 3
    Posted: 11 Apr 2019 at 8:29pm
*DISCLAIMER: I'm not assuming I'll make it to round 3, I'm just hopeful*

This is my first year participating in the short story challenge. I find myself with a lot of questions:) If anyone can help answer them, I'd be so grateful.
**In case I make it to round 3, I want to be prepared**

What does round 3 generally look like? Are there still 3 prompts given, or is the genre up to each writer? (I noticed other winning stories said "open genre".) 

Other writers who have made it to finals in the past... what kind of preparation did you do before the 24 hours started, to help yourself focus and be mentally ready for the challenge? What mistakes did you make that you'll avoid this time? 

I know we have quite a long wait before the results come out, but I thought I'd take advantage of the forum being so active right now and get my questions out there. 

Thanks in advance!!

Edited by Littledaylight - 11 Apr 2019 at 8:29pm
Littledaylight
Round 1 Microfiction
https://forums.nycmidnight.com/topic23907_post302843.html#302843
roccapia View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Addict
NYC Midnight Addict

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote roccapia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Apr 2019 at 8:32pm
They usually only give you two prompts; the genre is left blank.