NYC Midnight : Creative Writing & Screenwriting Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Creative Writing Corner
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

FF Round 1 - "Top 5" finishers on Master List

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
NYC Midnight Regular
NYC Midnight Regular

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (6) Thanks(6)   Quote Pundit Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: FF Round 1 - "Top 5" finishers on Master List
    Posted: 15 Aug 2022 at 1:26pm
I'm a newbie. Before round 2, I found it very helpful to read highly-ranked stories from the first round. When someone posted, "I can't believe I got first place in my group!" I would click on the link to see if I could figure out what the judges liked and to see what the top writers had done better than I had done.

But my method was hit-and-miss. Once the new assignments were announced, I would have loved a faster way to locate and read a few of the top stories in my genre. Of course, the top 5 finishers in each group are of greatest interest.

It occurs to me that we might be able to use the list of "Top 15 Stories by Group" to compile a guide to the master list of Round 1 FF stories ranked in the top five. Here are the two links:

Only a handful of people seem to use the Master List (it is a little complicated to figure out) so the goal of this post is to identify which Top-5 finishers in each group are available. I am hopeful that more top finishers will post links, too, if they realize that their stories could be helpful to others.

I have created a list with titles of any Top-5 finishers posted in the Master List. Some groups did not make this list: the writers of the Top-5 stories did not post their links in the Master List. (Also - Group 94 was apparently inadvertently omitted from the Master List.) For most groups, between 1 and 4 people posted their stories.