NYC Midnight : Creative Writing & Screenwriting Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Creative Writing Corner
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Does writing flash make you a better writer?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
NYC Midnight Regular
NYC Midnight Regular

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fioOxf Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Nov 2018 at 8:39pm
Originally posted by GGreen GGreen wrote:

It's great to see all of these thoughts. I asked because I was thinking about how much I've learned here. Bu I think a big part of why I'm learning is the quick feedback loop here; that has helped me learn the most.
Debating whether to do the SSC too...

Interesting thread. I'm a newbie too AND also trying to decide whether to sign up for SSC AND it looks like I live just down the road from you. LOL
NC Ch3 prompts5 Or else you cry
Ch2 A Curious Mischief
Ch1 What loneliness sounds like (see Ch2 f
Sponsored Links

Talespinner View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Regular
NYC Midnight Regular

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Talespinner Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Nov 2018 at 5:36am
Better? Jury's out; but Pat, TaleSpinner and I, we like my stuff better.

More concise? Certainly

More metaphor, poetic license? Yes, what fun!

More creative? Yep: random prompts push me outside my comfort zone, away from same-ole, same-ole into fresh pastures with odd-looking hay-stacks to firkle through and new needles of gold to discover.

More confident? Sure, on a good day.

More productive? Absolutely, in terms of time management, focus and word count. 

NYCM has taught me to produce a finished flash piece within 1000 words in a dozen or so revisions over a week, and I'm delighted with that. Quality is improving all the time. (And I've learned that for me, good writing blossoms in the revision process.)