NYC Midnight : Creative Writing & Screenwriting Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Questions & Answers
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Character Interpretation

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
NYC Midnight Regular
NYC Midnight Regular

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VeeRob3299 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Character Interpretation
    Posted: 26 Jul 2021 at 8:15am

Hi, the Short Story final round contestants (I am not a contestant) were given the following prompts:

Genre:  Open

Subject:  A honeymoon

Character:  A poacher

My question is, how loosely can a "Character" prompt be interpreted? For instance, "A poacher", could mean someone who illegally hunts animals or someone cooking food (eggs, seafood, desserts) via poaching methods.  Both quite different.

Are participants free to 'interpret' and use these prompts freely?

I'm a newbie here, and trying to learn.  So I would appreciate any constructive thoughts.

Thanks 

V.

Popsicle Crows View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Black Belt
NYC Midnight Black Belt

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Popsicle Crows Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jul 2021 at 3:46pm
Yes, you absolutely can but I think you have to use 'reasonable person' theory. In both examples you mentioned, I think there would be no trouble at all with the judges.

I think where we have to be careful is when we stray from what the prompt is for. For example, my prompt 'a cleaner' is a character so I couldn't make it a bottle of Windex otherwise it becomes an object.

BUT .. if the bottle of Windex get written as a character, "Hey buddy, I'm right here! Clean your windows!" AND the Windex bottle does and says things like a true character, we could use it. I don't think they would accept it if a guy simply hallucinates and the bottle of cleaner has one line. Not really a character that way, just a talking object.