NYC Midnight : Creative Writing & Screenwriting Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Creative Writing Corner
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Advice on Creative Writing Major

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
NYC Midnight Groupie
NYC Midnight Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GreenWriter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Advice on Creative Writing Major
    Posted: 13 Mar 2010 at 1:17pm
Hello fellow writers,

I am currently a Freshman in college at a fairly small State school (8,000 students). My dream is to be a professional writer one day. My school does not offer a "Creative Writing" major, but it has an Enlish major with a writing emphasis (it is a nursing school). I have been doing a little research on schools with better English programs and Creative Writing majors, and there are quite a few great ones. However, I could learn a lot about writing at my current school, which I like, and I know transferring is sometimes hard.

My question is: do you think it would be better to stay at my small school or transfer to a school with a stronger English/Creative Writing program? Also, what are some good schools that you might suggest? In my short research, I have found Brandeis, Oberlin, Northwestern, Emory, Carnegie Mellon, Kenyon, and Hamilton. Any praise for these schools? Online research is a little daunting, as I know there are many good schools out there.

Any advice/past experiences you have is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Sponsored Links

troutbellies View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Regular
NYC Midnight Regular

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote troutbellies Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2010 at 1:10am