NYC Midnight : Creative Writing & Screenwriting Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Creative Writing Corner
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Advice for Round 3

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
NYC Midnight Newbie
NYC Midnight Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MegtheCrane Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Advice for Round 3
    Posted: 07 Nov 2019 at 1:34pm
I'm a newbie to NYC Midnight's FF challenge, but extremely grateful to be moving on to the next round (Challenge 3, here we come! Weekend plans ... sorry to disappoint). It's great to have this forum because I feel like the advice I've seen from FF veterans is always incredibly helpful. 

That being said, is there any advice/tips/general knowledge we should know from anyone who has competed in Challenge 3? Are the group sizes the same? Same variety of genres? Maybe it's the anxiety in me, but I can't help but view this challenge as a fire breathing dragon from hell ... any advice would be MORE than appreciated. Just worried I'm going to psych myself out come Friday night. 

Best of luck to all!
MrLipto View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Addict
NYC Midnight Addict

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (3) Thanks(3)   Quote MrLipto Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Nov 2019 at 1:46pm
Groups, I think, are random 25 people.

Same possible genres. Maybe go the genre description page and familiarize yourself with the expectations.

This veteran suggests you divorce yourself from any hope or dread regarding the prompts. Fate and Life and Death and Time do not care what you do or do not want. You get what you get. When the prompts come, don't waste emotional energy dwelling on your luck or lack thereof.