NYC Midnight : Creative Writing & Screenwriting Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Creative Writing Corner
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

What are you doing instead of writing?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
NYC Midnight Regular
NYC Midnight Regular

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Shadies01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2017 at 12:14am
Originally posted by ASharedNarrative ASharedNarrative wrote:

Originally posted by Shadies01 Shadies01 wrote:

I spent most of Saturday working (I'm a realtor so weekends are busy!) and thinking over ideas for the story. I spent most of Sunday working and managed to sneak in about 3 hours to write up the story I came up with...and spent then the rest of Sunday night realizing I used a storeroom instead of a stockroom, but didn't have time to come up with an entirely new story since I had a bunch of paperwork to do for work.  Oh, and spent quite a bit of time both days admiring pictures of my new granddaughter. :)

What's the distinction? I thought they were two different words for the same thing.

Hopefully the judges won't see a difference! :)  

Stockroom: a room in which stock of materials or goods are stored for use or sale.
Storeroom: a room or space where things are stored.  

Not a huge difference, really, but they could be picky about it.

Edited by Shadies01 - 17 Jul 2017 at 12:15am
Alexis_H View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Regular
NYC Midnight Regular

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Alexis_H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jul 2017 at 8:43am

Stockroom: a room in which stock of materials or goods are stored for use or sale.

Last year my location was a gun range. I had nothing so I made it into a former gun range, now nightclub. I got the highest marks for that one out of last years entries.