NYC Midnight : Creative Writing & Screenwriting Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > GENERAL DISCUSSION > Screenwriting Bar & Lounge
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

making it to the next round

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
NYC Midnight Newbie
NYC Midnight Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote spitfyre Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: making it to the next round
    Posted: 25 Apr 2009 at 6:44pm
This is my first time entering this contest. I was wondering if anyone who has done this before could tell me: Is it usually only the winner of the heat that makes it to the next round? From the rules, it sounds like it could potentially be many more people, but since there are 30 heats instead of 20, I'm wondering if it's likely that more people will advance. Thanks!
shawnman View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Groupie
NYC Midnight Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote shawnman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2009 at 7:36pm
The winner of each heat is guaranteed a spot in the next round.  If there were really strong submissions in a heat, the second or even third place finishers COULD advance.

There is no set number as to how many can advance, so it's completely up to the judges.
marnie View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Addict
NYC Midnight Addict

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote marnie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2009 at 7:41pm
    Isn't it 1st, 2nd & 3rd advance???
leapinglilies View Drop Down
NYC Midnight Addict
NYC Midnight Addict

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote leapinglilies Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Apr 2009 at 8:23pm
no marnie i think it is just first place guaranteed to move onto to round two. they select up to a certian amount throughout the groups to move on. their choice.